Back in the Saddle

29 Apr

Went for a spin this evening at my old standby, Wash Park.  The ride felt great, and even though I was only out for about 35 minutes, I enjoyed every bit of it.  Oddly enough, standing up and sitting down on the couch, and getting in and out of the car has hurt far worse than riding did.  A sign, perhaps?  I was apprehensive about riding, that I might get on and suddenly feel scared and tentative.  That all went away pretty quickly when I threw down a couple of sprints to test the legs.  Bring on a group ride!

As for the bike, it came out like a champ.  One little plastic bracket on my right brake (the side I didn’t land on!) broke, but aside from a little lateral play in the brake, everything worked fine.  The guys at the shop thought that if it didn’t affect shifting or braking in any noticeable way, I could probably live with it till I felt like buying a new one.  The brake lever and shifter paddle on the left side both sustained some cosmetic damage, but simply has added “hard man” character to the bike.

I’ve used Bag Balm (fantastic stuff; has lanolin in it) to help the healing process, as well as New Skin.  Both have seemed to help so far.

Hope everyone had a great weekend.  Ride safe!

2 Responses to “Back in the Saddle”

  1. runningforjesus April 29, 2012 at 10:25 pm #

    Glad your getting back in the saddle.

  2. Greg Immel April 30, 2012 at 4:31 am #

    Good to hear your alright (and the bike as well).

Leave a Reply

